Crab Pasta

Ever since Chubby Hubby revamped his blog, I have been visiting more frequently. I picked up one of the easier recipes and decide to try it out – Crab Pasta.

I bought 2 flower crabs from NTUC, not the freshest but they will do.

So very often, whenever I cook prawns that needed to be de-shelled,  I always save the shells and keep them in the freezer. So, here they are!! 派上用场了!

Here are the ingredients for the broth:

  • 2 flower crabs
  • Prawn Shells (around 10-12 prawns)
  • 1 onion
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 lemongrass
  • handful of laksa leaves
  • Can of plum tomato

Fry the crabs and prawn shells, add in the rest of the ingredients and a can of plum tomatoes. Add water. Boil and simmer. CH’s recipe call for basil but there was no basil available when I was super marketing, so I left it out.

The frying starts and the simmering begins.

This was the time when my ‘Ang’ walk into the Kitchen and lamented “Smells really good leh”


Now for the dish itself:

  • Garlic
  • Ginger
  • Chilli
  • Onion
  • Laksa Leaves
  • Prawns
  • Crabmeat (I bought mock crab meat which I regretted because by the time it was cooked, the mock crabmeat had disintegrated and became very soft, sweetness was also gone)
  • I left the parmesan cheese out. ‘Ang’ don’t really eat cheese and it is not a staple in my fridge. So ultimately that chunk of cheese bought specifically for this dish will be buried at the back of the fridge and never see day light! So, I didn’t bother.

Complete Yum!! I think I concentrate on preparing the broth that I overcooked the pasta *face palm*

Tagged

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

